Swedish title The Nile Hilton Incident tastes victory at Sundance

The Nile Hilton Incident dir. Tarik Saleh
46th Rotterdam International Film Festival Pedro Almodovar to Head 70th Cannes Festival Jury

The 33rd edition of the Sundance Film Festival, which was held in Park City, Utah, from 19-29 January, has announced its winners.

In the World Cinema Dramatic Competition, the Grand Jury Prize went to Swedish director Tarik Saleh's third feature, The Nile Hilton Incident; Saleh was the first Swedish contender in nine years for the top prize and emerged victorious in the end with this police drama set in Cairo, revolving around the Egyptian revolution of 2011. In the same competition, British director Francis Lee was singled out with the Directing Award for his Yorkshire-set romantic drama God's Own Country. The Special Jury Award for Cinematography went to Manu Dacosse for the German production Axolotl Overkill, the debut feature by Helene Hegemann, which competed alongside nine other German titles.

In the World Cinema Documentary Competition, the Danish title Last Men in Aleppo by Feras Fayyad and Steen Johannessen, which follows the last remaining residents in the Syrian city as they prepare themselves for a siege, pocketed the Grand Jury Prize. Eight French productions or co-productions took part in the US film festival this year, but the most successful one was the portrait of Winnie Madikizela Mandela's life and carer, Winnie, as it earned Pascale Lamche the Directing Award. Lastly, Rodrigo Trejo Villanueva's cinematography won the Special Jury Award for the Indian-German-Finnish co-production Machines by Rahul Jain.

Here is the complete list of European winners at the Sundance Film Festival:

World Cinema Dramatic Competition

Grand Jury Prize
The Nile Hilton Incident - Tarik Saleh (Sweden)

Directing Award
Francis Lee - God's Own Country (UK)

Special Jury Award for Cinematography
Manu Dacosse - Axolotl Overkill (Germany)

World Cinema Documentary Competition

Grand Jury Prize
Last Men in Aleppo - Feras Fayyad (Denmark)

Directing Award
Pascale Lamche - Winnie (France)

Special Jury Award for Cinematography
Rodrigo Trejo Villanueva - Machines (India/Germany/Finland)


More news
Programme Bertrand Bonello's "Nocturama" at the 17th T-Mobile New Horizons IFF 23/01/17
Festival Berlin Film Festival 2017: winners revealed 20/02/17
Programme 17th T-Mobile New Horizons IFF: "The Winter" by Emiliano Torres 8/03/17
Awards The 29th European Film Awards - winners 11/12/16